1 minute read

At the close of Friday, eight have filed to run for the open Ward 7 Oklahoma City Council seat.

The special election non-partisan primary will be Aug. 28.

The candidates are:

  • Ed Alexander
  • John Albert Pettis
  • Lisa Butler
  • Leslie Johnson III
  • Chris Harrison
  • Kirk Pankratz
  • Margaret Walsh
  • Nikki Nice

If a candidate wins the majority of the votes in the primary, they win the seat. If no candidate wins a majority, the two candidates with the most votes will be in a runoff election Nov. 6.

The winner will serve the remainder of the four-year term for the seat vacated by John Pettis, Jr. who resigned when he was charged with embezzlement and intentionally failing to file income tax.

The Council chose Pastor Lee E. Cooper, Jr. to serve in the interim until a new permanent member is chosen in a vote.

Last Updated June 15, 2018, 5:38 PM by Brett Dickerson – Editor